Randoms

The Crazy Days of May

TGIF!  Oh Friday, I am so happy to see you!  This has been an extremely busy month and it still hasn’t ended.  From state testing to celebrations, this has been quite a month for me.  Just thought I would catch you up on all that’s been happening.  

 Cinco de Mayo!  A coworker said this was my favorite holiday.  I had to correct her…it’s my 2nd favorite!  🙂  I need to do the Ancestory kit to see if I have a little Latina flavor in the mix because I do look forward to celebrating this every year.  My friend Jen and I attended the annual festival downtown at the Visitors Center and had a blast!

meandJenCinco_picmonkeyed.jpg

Happy Mother’s Day!  My Mother’s Day gift came a couple days early when my son graduated from college!  I am so proud of him and all that he has accomplished!  

Dariusgradwfriends_picmonkeyed.jpg Back Spasms.  This is the not so good part of my month.  I was getting ready for work one morning when it suddenly happened.  I was paralyzed for a bit, meaning I couldn’t move in any position.  I had to call a friend over to help me because the pain was so unbearable.  Fast forward, two weeks and the pain strikes again, but this time at work.  Not as bad as the first time, but enough to send me to the doctor.  I’ve got some good meds to help take care of the pain and hope this never happens again.  

Students.  Its the end of the school year and it seems that everyone is going bonkers.  Teachers, administration, and the kids.  Today was our last day with students and I’m so glad that summer vacation is just around the corner.  This last week has been busy, but fun!  Please be sure to swipe left on the Instagram page to see all they did below.

I will be attending high school graduation tomorrow to see some of my former lovelies receive their diploma.  I look forward to this every year!  I have been invited to so many graduation parties, I don’t know where to begin.  It’s always good to see my middle-schoolers grow up and fulfill their dreams.  I received this jewel from a former student and I got all choked up when I read it.  The time and effort I put in with him has truly paid off and he actually remembered me for it.  It’s not often that we know the difference we make in the lives of a child.  Thank you Joey for remembering me!

"Thank you for believing in me!" I received this little jewel in my box this morning at work. Upon close examination, I was brought to tears. This is a former student of mine. Remember, I am a 7th grade school counselor. So I began working with this young man in the Fall of 2011. I can vividly remember our time together. We don't know the impact we have on children until we receive messages like this one. Sometimes we never know how much of a difference we make, but we keep doing what we know best. I'm so glad to have made a difference in your life, Joey! I am so proud of you and your accomplishments! You're headed to #Vanderbilt! See you at graduation!✨ ❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤ #makingadifference #littlereminders #schoolcounseling #schoolcounselor #schoolcouselorsrock #wedoitforthekids #education #offtocollege #reachhigher #reapingwhatwesow #thankful #blessed #believe #pricelessmoments #bloggersconnect #bloggersgetsocial #counselorsfollowcounselors #counselorsofinstagram #schoolcounselorsofinstagram

A post shared by sunshineandelephants (@sunshine.and.elephants) on

Marshall’s.  I really need to stay out of this store.  I have an addiction to Marshall’s; not shopping, just Marshall’s.  I can go there two to three times a week.  Sometimes, I go in with a purpose in mind.  Like, I need a new shirt or need to buy a gift for someone.  Other times, I just want to look and see what’s new because they get a new shipment each week.  I’m not even going to tell you how many trips I made this month, but let’s just say I have spent a lot of money there.

Marshall's screenshot.png

 I found these goodies this past week.  I needed a gift for my cousin’s kindergarten graduation and 6th birthday and found these goodies for him.  But, as fate would have it, I had to peruse the aisles and found some goodies for myself as well.  

Marshallshaul.jpg

Now Memorial Day is upon us and I really think I’m just going to crash.  I need to rest and give my body a break.  We’ll see what happens.  Until next time…have a great weekend!

How has the month of May been for you?  Was it as busy for you as it was for me?     Check out where I’m Linking Up!

 

20 thoughts on “The Crazy Days of May

  1. Oh wow, that’s such a sweet note and congrats to him on graduating. I love that students remember your help and you have parties you were invited to. Congrats to your son on graduating college too! I’m glad you had a MOSTLY good May. 🙂

    -lauren

    Like

    1. Thanks on the congrats! Yes, I love Target too, but it is further away from me. Marshall’s in literally about 3 miles from my home. I went in today, with my son, and had to stay away from my side. Lol…

      Like

  2. Thank you for stopping over! So nice to “meet” you. Congratulations to your son and to you! I know what a big accomplishment that is for the entire family. Your May is making me tired. It is a busy month. What a sweet note from your former student, it makes it all worthwhile! I hope your back is on the mend. That is not fun when it spasms for no reason. I love Marshalls too!!

    Like

    1. Hello again! I’m glad I stumbled upon your little space in the blogosphere. It’s nice to make new friends and check out new blogs. I am so proud of my son and all of my former students. I got to spend time with 7 of them this past weekend. They invited me over to their celebrations and I felt honored. My back is better and I made another trip to Marshalls…but I was good. Lol…

      Like

  3. WHAT A MONTH!
    Congrats to your son!! And of course to all the graduates/former students in your life. I love that they still think of you, that speaks volumes.

    Hey, girl, hey! I think you could totally have some Latina spice. 😉 Did you see when I posted about my mom’s results? I can’t wait to get my own Ancestry kit to see what I’m completely made up of. 🙂

    I’m so sorry about your back!! My husband back has given him problems on and off for years. He’ll get it all better and boom out of nowhere it comes for him. Hot yoga really helped him. He also has a lacrosse ball that he rolls on and a neck thing, I’m not sure of the technical term, but he uses that too. Especially before workouts.
    Wishing you a beautiful, happy and healthy June!
    XO

    Like

    1. Hey Dean! Thanks for the kind words. Yes, I am so proud of my son and all my former students. I went to 3 graduation parties to past weekend. I remember you talking about the Ancestry kit. I need to talk with my brother to see if he started one…my dad mentioned he was doing it for the family. Yes, my doctor recommended a ball and I need to try that as well. I am praying that part of the month is over for good. Hope your summer is off to a good start!

      Like

Leave a Reply

